Books

5 Best Horror Books You Must Read

Horror is a unique genre which might scare someone or might be laughable to other. But overall it’s an enjoyable genre to read. It involves ghosts, mysteries, monsters & serial killers to terrify the readers.

There is nothing quite like a good scary book to keep you up at night. Whether you’re a horror fanatic or jumping into the genre for the first time, this list of the best horror books has the perfect read for you. We have the list of top sellers for some of the best horror books.

Books that are must-reads and guaranteed to spook you with tales of ghosts, hauntings and things that go bump in the night! Perfect to get when you need a break from the normal to the paranormal, are you ready for goosebumps, and spine-chills?

To celebrate the season we have following five best books for the genre.

5. Carrie by Stephen King

A young girl unleashes her newfound psychic abilities in an attempt to exact revenge on those who humiliated her for her social awkwardness. Carrie is Stephen King’s first novel and a classic tale of horror and revenge. Summary of the Book Carrie White is no ordinary girl. She is socially awkward, she doesn’t know how to talk to boys and she definitely has no idea about how her own body works. Her classmates make fun of her for her awkwardness, coaxing her to try and fight back. However, poor Carrie White is a timid creature. She has no way of fighting back. And one day, all of that changes. Carrie unleashes her psychic abilities of telekinesis as she turns a night of planned fun into a horrific event that will scar everyone who has ever made fun of her. About Stephen King Stephen King is an American horror-fiction writer. His books, The Gunslinger, The Stand and The Shining, have rocketed him to fame and fortune. He has also written under the pseudonym of Richard Bachman. King graduated from the University of Maine, where he met and married his wife Tabitha King. He lives in Bangor, Maine.


4. Elevation by Stephen King

‘Stephen King’s slim new novel tackles weighty matters’ – New York Post

Castle Rock is a small town, where word gets around quickly. That’s why Scott Carey wants to confide only in his friend Doctor Bob Ellis about his strange condition: he’s losing weight, without getting thinner, and the scales register the same when he is in his clothes or out of them, however heavy they are. Scott also has new neighbours, who have opened a ‘fine dining experience’ in town, although it’s an experience being shunned by the locals; Deidre McComb and her wife Missy Donaldson don’t exactly fit in with the community’s expectations. And now Scott seems trapped in a feud with the couple over their dogs dropping their business on his lawn. Missy may be friendly, but Deidre is cold as ice.

As the town prepares for its annual Thanksgiving 12k run, Scott starts to understand the prejudices his neighbours face and he tries to help. Unlikely alliances form and the mystery of Scott’s affliction brings out the best in people who have indulged the worst in themselves and others. From master storyteller Stephen King, our ‘most precious renewable resource, like Shakespeare in the malleability of his work’ (Guardian), comes this timely, upbeat tale about finding common ground despite deep-rooted differences. Compelling and eerie, Elevation is as gloriously joyful (with a twinge of deep sadness) as ‘It’s a Wonderful Life.’ Includes illustrations (c) Mark Edward Geyer.


3. The Silent Patient

WITH OVER THREE MILLION COPIES SOLD, read the Sunday Times and No.1 New York Times bestselling, record-breaking thriller that everyone is talking about – soon to be a major film. ‘The perfect thriller’ AJ FINN ‘Terrific’ – THE TIMES Crime Book of the Month ‘Smart, sophisticated suspense’ – LEE CHILD ‘Compelling’ – OBSERVER ‘Absolutely brilliant’ – STEPHEN FRY ‘A totally original psychological mystery’ – DAVID BALDACCI ‘One of the best thrillers I’ve read this year’ – CARA HUNTER ‘The pace and finesse of a master’ – BBC CULTURE Alicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago. When she shot her husband in the head five times. Since then she hasn’t spoken a single word. It’s time to find out why. THE SILENT PATIENT is the gripping must-read thriller of the year – perfect for fans of THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS by Lisa Jewell, BLOOD ORANGE by Harriet Tyce and PLAYING NICE by JP Delaney.


2. The Dark Half by Stephen King

Creating George Stark was easy. Getting rid of him won’t be . . . The sparrows are flying again. The idea – unbidden, inexplicable – haunts the edge of Thad Beaumont’s mind. Thad should be happy. For years now it is his secret persona ‘George Stark’, author of super-violent pulp thrillers, who has paid the family bills. But now, Thad is writing seriously again under his own name, and his menacing pseudonym has been buried forever. And yet . . . the sparrows are flying again, and something is terribly wrong in Thad Beaumont’s world.


1. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale is a multi-million copy bestseller across the world. It is a heart-breakingly beautiful novel that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the endurance of women. This story is about what it was like to be a woman during World War II when women’s stories were all too often forgotten or overlooked . . . Vianne and Isabelle Mauriac are two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals and passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path towards survival, love and freedom in war-torn France. Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale is a novel for everyone, a novel for a lifetime. ‘A rich, compelling novel of love, sacrifice and survival’ – Kate Morton ‘Movingly written and plotted with the heartless skill of a Greek tragedy, you’ll keep turning the pages until the last racking sob’ – Daily Mail ‘I loved The Nightingale . . . great characters, great plots, great emotions, who could ask for more in a novel?’ – Isabel Allende, bestselling author of The House of the Spirits ‘A gripping tale of family, love, grief and forgiveness’ – Sunday Express.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.